The Mandy Monologue Competition is FREE to enter, and offers Actors of all levels from around the world a fantastic opportunity to showcase their acting talent and have their monologue judged by a panel of top industry experts. If that isn't enough, we have a selection of amazing prizes that will enhance your career - Headshots, Showreels, Event Passes, and more.

Join us for the Monologue Competition 2019 and help us make this the best competition yet!


Dan Hubbard Dan Hubbard
Noel Goodwin Noel Goodwin
Noel Clarke Noel Clarke
Jason Maza Jason Maza
Di Patrick Diana Patrick
Jacob Sparrow Jacob Sparrow
Sean Gascoine Sean Gascoine

Daniel Hubbard is one of the busiest Casting Directors in London with over 20 years of  experience in the industry. He is most known for his work on big studio films such as  King Kong (2005), Lara Croft: Tomb Raider  (2001) and Harry Brown (2009). Dan was also part of the successful British TV Series ‘Downton Abbey’ as well as being a Nominee for Outstanding Achievement in Casting for Captain Phillip  (2013).

Noel Goodwin is BFI’s (British Film institute) Director of the Future Film Festival and Education Strategy Manager. His industry portfolio has seen him write, direct and co-produce a variety of short productions including: A Ninja is for Life, Not just for Christmas (2006), and A Dog Called Moose (2017) which was awarded Salento Finibus Terrae in 2018.

Noel Clarke is an award-winning actor, screenwriter and director. He is known for his roles on Auf Wiedersehen, Pet (2002-2004) and Doctor Who (2005-2010). Clarke appeared in and wrote the screenplay for Kidulthood (2006) and wrote, directed, and starred in the sequels, Adulthood (2008) and Brotherhood (2016). Together with Jason Maza, he created Unstoppable - a production company focused on developing new talent and pushing the boundaries of independent filmmaking.

Jason Maza is an actor and producer, known for Welcome to the Punch (2013), Rise of the Footsoldier(2007) and Fish Tank (2009). Together with Noel Clarke, he co-founded Unstoppable, a production company a company that prides itself on giving a platform to new talent, continuing to push the boundaries of independent film and more importantly, advance those movies into an international market.

Diana Patrick is a director for super-famous, long-running TV shows such as Doctors (2010-2014), Coronation Street (2002-2018), Emmerdale (1998-2018), Casualty (1993-2008) and The Bill (1994-2008). She started her career as an actress in theatre and television until she took the leap into directing by applying for an National Film School course.

Sean Gascoine first entered the industry as a young actor building 20 credits with appearances on  Coronation Street  (1994), Uncovered (1994) and Lovejoy (1994). He was also the executive producer of Dummy in 2008. Since then Sean has gone on to be a successful industry agent representing a large portfolio of writers, actors, comedians and producers. including Jack Whitehall.

Jacob Sparrow is a Casting Director with experience in both the UK and America. He joined the National Theatre in 2015, and prior to that worked with Pippa Ailon Casting, David Grindrod Associates and Telsey and Company in New York. 


We have brought together some of the best providers in the industry to create a prize package that will enhance your career - Headshots, Showreels, Event Passes, and more.

Established Actor Winner:
Mandy Actors Annual Premium Membership, worth £156.
The Actors Guild - Annual Membership, worth £24.
Carl Proctor - Professional Headshots, worth £300.
Upshot Showreel - Mixed Monologue Reel, worth £199.

Emerging Actor Winner:
Mandy Actors Annual Premium Membership, worth £156.
The Actors Guild - Annual Membership, worth £24.
Daniel Johnson Films - Premium showreel service, worth £700.
Rosemary Rance - Full Standard Headshot Package, worth £180. 
BFI Future Film - Annual events pass, worth £45.

Graduate Actor Winner:
Mandy Actors Annual Premium Membership, worth £156.
The Actors Guild - Annual Membership, worth £24.
Claire Grogan - Professional Headshots, worth £380.
Ultimate Showreels - Modern Day Package Deal 3 scenes and professional edit, worth £300. 
BFI Future Film - Annual events pass, worth £45.
Sugar Pod - Professional Voice Reel, worth £360. 

Actors choice award:
Mandy Actors Annual Premium Membership, worth £156.
The Actors Guild - Annual Membership, worth £24.
MAD Photography - Professional Headshots, worth £300.
Adrift Pictures - Bespoke Film Package, worth £480.

Note: Any winners outside of the UK will be entitled to book similar packages with local providers, up to the same value.

Submitting your Monologue

You'll find the submission process at the bottom of this page and submitting your monologue couldn't be easier. We've broken it down into 3 simple steps: 

  1. Record your monologue and save the final file on your device or computer 
  2. Select the category you are entering (Graduates, Emerging, or Established)
  3. Click 'Pick File' and Upload your final monologue video, ensuring its under 200mb in size - and hit apply

Read before submitting

  1. Keep it short! Your monologue should be no more than 2 minutes long.
  2. Low budget - get a friend with a steady hand to capture your monologue on a smartphone, tablet or laptop.
  3. Profanity is okay if it’s in the script. No nudity please.
  4. Competition open to all Mandy Actors members. Only 1 entry per member permitted.
  5. Deadline for entries is: 26th March 2019.

Annie Rowe's Advice for Entrants

    1. Choose a piece that goes somewhere emotionally so it showcases your range.
    2. Avoid monologues that are essentially big lists, they don’t offer enough ‘meat’ or variation.
    3. Play to your strengths. If you’ve got naturally sharp comic timing, choose a great comic speech. If you’re confident to dig deep, choose a dramatic piece.
    4. The best monologues are like exquisite short stories; they have a beginning, middle and end.
    5. Try not to pick a long piece and then rush it. Relax. Short, sweet, leave us wanting more.
    6. Find a character that is your own age.

Check out last years winners by clicking below - you can read the comments given by the judges and if you click on the winners name you will be taken to their profile page where you can view their winning monologue. 


Florence Howard

‘Really natural, engaging and believable performer.’ Nicky Bligh.
‘I think Florence has cast herself perfectly in this role. Beautifully subtle and totally engaging. The natural delivery, the feeling of spontaneity, the level of discomfort and degree of reluctance at what she is saying, were perfectly pitched, all coming together to make the piece very funny and engaging.' Carl Proctor.

Evangeline Beaven

‘Really warm, engaging and connected performance. I believed every word of what she was saying. She drew me in, in such a short amount of time.’ Nicky Bligh.
‘Lovely and engaging character that Evangeline brought to herself perfectly, resulting in a very natural, spontaneous and engaging performance. A very good choice of monologue for her.’ Carl Proctor.

Sid Phoenix

‘A truly powerful performance. Very real, raw emotion and vulnerability, whilst at the same time there was a strength about him. Captivating. Good pace and timing, and very well shot (good natural light).’ Belinda Norcliffe Casting.
‘A very immediate and powerful monologue. I believed every word of it, and I really liked his stillness within such an emotional monologue.’ Nicky Bligh.

Marie Fortune

We're thrilled to congratulate Marie Fortune, winner of the Mandy Monologue Actors Choice Award for 2017. Marie has been voted best monologue by fellow actors and peers out of a massive 795 monologue entries!